Numero Group To Release The Creation’s Career Compilation March 17

thecreationCHICAGO, Ill. — Numero Group has compiled for the first time ever the complete studio recordings of the English ’60s psych-rock band the Creation. The 2-CD set titled Action Painting will be released March 17, 2017.

All 42 tracks the group recorded between 1965-1968 have been remastered from the original tapes by Shel Talmy, and given fresh stereo mixes where previously unavailable. New essays by music historians Dean Rudland and Alec Palao tell the Creation story while scores of previously unpublished photographs adorn the accompanying 80-page hardbound book. Numero Group has rounded out the package with four tracks by pre-Creation freakbeat quartet the Mark Four, making Action Painting the definitive collection of this legendary U.K. band.

The Creation were a dynamic quartet with an equally engaging image. They would burn brightly for just two years, yet would leave an indelible mark upon music history. With producer du jour Shel Talmy at the helm (The Who, Kinks, Easybeats, Cat Stevens, et al.) the Creation went on an incredible two-year tear of singles, including “Making Time,” “How Does It Feel to Feel,” “Tom Tom,” and “If I Stay Too Long.” By 1968 the paint was dry and the band split. Eddie Phillips’ trademark guitar bowing would be nicked by Jimmy Page and Boney M would cheese up “Painter Man,” the band’s highest-charting single.

Over the nearly five decades since, the Creation has seen a tremendous resurgence in interest. First it was the Jam flossing “Making Time” on the inner sleeve of All Mod Cons. A few years later Alan McGee formed the band Biff Bang Pow and his Creation record label. By the turn of the century a new generation had discovered the band via a strategic placement in Wes Anderson’s Rushmore.

According to legendary producer Talmy, “My biggest regret is that they didn’t achieve the standing they should have. I truly believe they could have been as big as the Who.”

With Action Painting, overdue recognition might be just around the bend.

Separate from the 2-CD/2-LP collection, Numero will release a limited edition, break away spindle 45 featuring the Creation’s “Making Time” backed with a previously unissued instrumental version.

Disc 1
1 Making Time
2 Try and Stop Me
4 Biff Bang Pow
5 Sylvette (edit)
6 If I Stay Too Long
7 Nightmares
8 Life Is Just Beginning
9 Through My Eyes
10 How Does It Feel to Feel
11 Tom Tom
12 Can I Join Your Band
13 Midway Down
14 The Girls Are Naked
15 Bonie Maronie
17 For All That I Am
18 Uncle Bert
19 Cool Jerk
20 I Am the Walker
21 Ostrich Man
22 Sweet Helen
23 How Does It Feel to Feel (US version)

Disc 2
1 THE MARK FOUR – Hurt Me If You Will
2 THE MARK FOUR – I’m Leaving
3 THE MARK FOUR – Work All Day (Sleep All Night)
4 THE MARK FOUR – Going Down Fast
5 How Does It Feel to Feel (US version) New stereo mix
6 Biff Bang Pow New stereo mix
7 For All That I Am New stereo mix
8 Can I Join Your Band New stereo mix
9 Through My Eyes New stereo mix
10 Tom Tom New stereo mix
11 Midway Down New stereo mix
12 Nightmares New stereo mix
13 Life Is Just Beginning New stereo mix
14 Painter Man New stereo mix
15 If I Stay Too Long New stereo mix
16 How Does It Feel To Feel (UK version) New stereo mix
17 Cool Jerk New stereo mix
18 Hey Joe New stereo mix
19 Like a Rolling Stone New stereo mix
20 Making Time (backing track) take 1 Previously unissued
21 Sylvette (full length)
22 Instrumental 1
23 How Does It Feel to Feel (version 1) (backing track – Previously unissued